The People behind GEOHUM

Head

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Stefan Lang
University of Salzburg
Department of Geoinformatics – Z_GIS
Schillerstraße 30
5020 Salzburg
  +43 (0) 662 / 8044-7562
  stefan.lang@plus.ac.at

Senior Researcher

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Barbara Schernthanner-Hofer
currently on maternity leave
 barbara.schernthanner-hofer@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: PI of RA III Img2Info

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dirk Tiede
  +43 (0) 662 / 8044-7565
 dirk.tiede@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: PI of RA I Img2Info

Dr. Lorenz Wendt
currently on parental leave
  +43 (0) 662 / 8044-7533
  lorenz.wendt@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: Co-lead of RA I Img2Info, lead of WP ‘Photogrammetry’ in RA I and WP ‘Demographic mapping’ in RA II ConSense

Dr. MSc. Zahra Dabiri
+43 (0) 662 / 8044-7571
Zahra.Dabiri@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: support of management; leading WP ‘Radar analysis’ within RA I

Researcher

Mag. Petra Füreder
+43 (0) 662 / 8044-7515
petra.fuereder@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: support of overall management, lead of WP ‘Geovisualisation and advanced cartography’ in RA III Info2Comm

Getachew Workineh Gella, MSc
+43(0)662 / 8044-7544
getachewworkineh.gella@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: working on WP ‘Hybrid AI system’ within RA I (focus on grey data for object detection) and WP ‘Legal and ethical issues’ (geoprivacy aware communication of results and sharing of geospatial data) within RA III.

Sophia Klaußner, MSc

emiliasophia.klaussner@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: PhD student in RA II ConSense

Elena Nafieva, MSc

   elena.nafieva@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: involved in RA I Img2Info, WP ‘Radar analysis’ (evaluation of Sentinel-1 data in the context of urban floods; SAR-based damage assessment after the earthquake in Turkey/Syria Feb 2023)

Kathrin Lunzner, MA, BA
  kathrin.lunzner@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: currently writing Master thesis within RA I Img2Info (title ‘Testing preconditions for spatial transferability of deep learning models for dwelling extraction in refugee and IDP camps.’); also supports in dissemination

Polina Lemenkova, MSc
  polina.lemenkova@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: supports data management; writes her PhD related to environmental dynamics in Africa.

Barbara Riedler, MSc

  barbara.riedler@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: research on geospatial data assimilation and the application of these methods in the field of settlement/urban structure and population estimation; geovisualisation and cartography

Interns and other temporary researchers

Administration

Mag. Petra Jenewein-Bogensperger
  +43 (0) 662 / 8044-7566
  petra.jenewein@plus.ac.at

Former Team members

Yunya Gao, MSc
yunya.gao@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: worked on Hybrid AI system within RA I, mainly focused on semantic segmentation models for dwelling extraction

Linda Petutschnig, MSc

linda.petutschnig@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: Co-lead of RA II ConSense,  lead of the WPs 'Geospatial data assimilation toolbox' and 'Malaria mapping'

Dr. Andreas Braun
  +49-(0)7071-29-78940
 an.braun@uni-tuebingen.de

Role in GEOHUM: work package leader of Radar analysis within RA I until the end of 2021

Dr. Stefan Kienberger

Senior researcher
  stefan.kienberger@plus.ac.at

Role in GEOHUM: PI of RA II ConSense

B.S. Christina Zorenböhmer

Role in GEOHUM: wrote her master thesis in the context of GEOHUM investigating the implication of grey data on deep learning-based dwelling extraction.

MSc. Niklas Jaggy

Role in GEOHUM: worked on Radar analysis within RA I, where he also wrote his Master thesis 'Despeckling of SAR images for improving analysis results'

Andreas Schlagbauer, MSc
Role in GEOHUM: involved in RA II ConSense, WP 'Geospatial data assimilation toolbox' and 'Settlement / Urban structure analysis'

Interns
  • Martin Dautriche, BSc: worked on contrast learning for buildings
  • Lisah Ligono, BSc: CDG funded internship, worked on flood mapping
  • Vanessa Streifeneder
  • Niklas Jaggy
  • Ruhi Begum
  • Hannes Seigmann
  • Sofía Delgado Balaguera (CDG funded internship)